Fencing referee test – Foil questions (47Q)

1. Fencer X makes a simple attack with advance-lunge while Fencer Y, who has been waiting to time X’s action, immediately extends the arm before the start of X’s lunge. Both fencers hit valid, within the same tempo.

t.8 Offensive actions (a) The attack The action is simple when it is executed in one movement and is - either direct (in the same line) - or indirect (in another line). The action is compound when it is executed in several movements. Fencer X is not making a simple attack—it entails more than one movement. However, the right of way has been established (given that it is an attack: extending the arm and threatening target). “Extends” is understood to mean the position of “point in line”—but in this case, it was initiated before the position could be established:

2. Fencer X is at double advance plus lunge distance and makes a double advance plus lunge attack while Fencer Y, who has been waiting to time X’s action, immediately extends the arm before the start of X’s advance-lunge. Both fencers hit valid.

An advance out of distance cannot be an attack because it does not threaten valid target. Point in line is established before the advance-lunge.

3. There has been no official weapons check. Fencer X reports to the strip wearing a metallic vest with a small patch sewn on it. During the check it is found that the patch registers non-valid.

What feature(s) should be checked about the foil handle?

5. The jacket, in foil

Only the epee jacket is required to cover the whole trunk. The foil lame must, of course, cover valid target.

6. May a fencer hold a French foil by the pommel?

t.16 If the handle has no special device or attachment or special shape (e.g. orthopaedic), a fencer may hold it in any way he wishes and he may also alter the position of his hand on the handle during a bout.

7. After a penalty for corps à corps in the current bout, Fencer X parries with the unarmed hand and then lands a valid riposte.

8. Before the command Fence! is given, Fencer X establishes the line.

t.17 … The fencers must come on guard correctly and remain completely still until the command ‘Fence’ is given by the Referee. In foil and saber fencers may not come on guard in the ‘in line’ position.

9. Fencer Y has received a YELLOW CARD for covering target in the current bout. Fencers X and Y come together, both causing corps à corps.

10. No penalties have been issued. Fencer X parries Fencer Y’s attack and makes a riposte to Y’s valid surface, during which X’s shoulder of the unarmed arm comes forward of the shoulder of the armed arm. Y then remises to X’s valid surface.

Old rule t.46 no longer applies.

11. Fencer X is losing the bout 4-2 and has been penalized for turning the back. X’s attack lands valid. During the attack, the shoulder of X’s non-weapon arm was forward of the shoulder of the weapon arm.

Old rule t.46 no longer applies.

12. What is the maximum bend allowed in the foil blade?

13. How may the foil blade be bent?

14. The foil spring must push back a test weight of how many grams?

15. What feature should be checked about the foible of the foil?

The body of the barrel and the foil blade for a length of 15 cm from the barrel, as well as the pommel or the rear extremity of the handle, must be entirely covered with insulating material (insulating tape, gummed paper, Sellotape, plastic material or varnish).

16. Fencer X drags the point on the strip after receiving a YELLOW CARD in the current bout.

17. Fencer X parries Y’s attack and makes an immediate compound riposte (with the arm extending during the feint), while Y makes a simple, direct remise. Both touches arrive on the valid surface within the same tempo.

2. Only the fencer who attacks is counted as touched: …(c) If, during a compound attack, his opponent finds the blade, but he continues the attack and his opponent ripostes immediately.

18. The metallic vest must be made so that when it is laid flat there is a straight line between the junction of the lines of the groin and the:

19. What should the Referee check about the wire that joins the rear connection of the body cord to the metallic vest?

20. What should the Referee check about the inside of the foil guard?

21. Where must the body cord be attached to the fencer’s metallic vest?

22. No penalties have been given. During a halt following an action, the side judge observing Fencer X announces the non-valid touch occurred on X’s hand while it was covering the valid surface. The Referee believes that covering did not occur.

23. If the fencer on the left is attacking, and the white and colored lights on the right side of a machine meeting the current FIE specifications both light up, the Referee should:

The correct answer cannot be “b” because it is the materiality of the touch that is in question, not the validity of the attack.

24. No penalties have been given. With no other fencing actions occurring, Fencer X intentionally touches the ground outside the metallic strip to cause a halt.

25. Fencer X makes a direct attack that lands valid. Before the attack arrives, Fencer Y hits the floor and registers non-valid while trying to parry the attack.

Disregard touches… made on any object other than the opponent or his equipment…

26. Fencer X executes a beat attack that registers valid. On the beat, Fencer Y’s foil registers non-valid.

On the other hand, when the Referee has decided that a touch made by a competitor has priority, this touch shall not be annulled if subsequently it is found that a valid touch made by the opponent is registered as non-valid or that the weapon of the fencer against whom the touch was awarded is permanently registering a non-valid touch.

27. Fencer X scores on Fencer Y with a direct attack. During the halt it is found that touches scored on X by Y do not remain fixed on the machine.

He must annul a touch which he has just awarded as a result of a touch signalled [sic] as on the valid target (coloured [sic] lamp) if he establishes, by tests made under his personal supervision, before the bout has effectively recommenced (the command ‘Fence’)… that the registration of touches made by the competitor against whom the touch was awarded does not remain recorded on the apparatus.

28. Fencer X scores on Fencer Y with a direct attack. During the halt it is found that valid touches scored on X by Y are registered as non-valid.

29. Fencer X attacks and scores a valid touch. While attempting to parry, Fencer Y's blade breaks and registers off target.

When a competitor against whom a touch has been registered has broken his blade, the touch must be annulled unless the breaking of the blade has occurred clearly after the touch has been registered.

30. Fencer X attacks with a beat and thrust and scores a valid touch. The beat breaks Fencer Y's blade and it registers off target.

31. Fencer X scores a valid touch with an attack. Fencer Y attempts to parry and ripostes, but the blade breaks on the riposte and registers off target.

32. Fencer X begins an attack even though Y has a point in line. To have the right of way, X must:

33. Fencer X begins an attack with a feint. Fencer Y momentarily follows the feint and then counter attacks and hits valid into X’s attack, which also lands valid.

1. Only the fencer who is attacked is counted as touched:… (d) If, during a compound attack, he makes a stop hit without being in time.

34. Fencer X makes an attack that is parried and an immediate remise that lands valid before Fencer Y’s immediate riposte lands valid.

2. Only the fencer who attacks is counted as touched…(c) If, during a compound attack, his opponent finds the blade, but he continues the attack and his opponent ripostes immediately

35. Fencer X starts a multiple feint attack. Fencer Y follows the feints. After X’s first feint, X’s arm is pulled back so that X’s elbow is touching X’s side. X finishes the action with the arm extending and Y counter attacks into the extension. Both land valid.

36. Fencer X falls to avoid Y’s attack. X’s counter-attack arrives, Y’s attack fails.

During or after a fall…

37. Fencer X falls to avoid Y’s attack. Y’s attack arrives on valid surface.

38. Fencer X trips and falls while retreating from Y’s attack. Y’s attack arrives.

39. Fencer X makes an attack which is parried. Fencer Y makes an immediate riposte, while Fencer X makes an immediate remise while dropping his head so that the top of his mask is facing Y. X’s remise arrives, Y’s riposte fails, glancing off X’s mask.

40. Fencer X makes an attack which is parried. Fencer Y makes an immediate riposte, while Fencer X makes an immediate remise while leaning forward. X’s remise arrives, Y’s riposte fails sliding down the front of X’s lamé.

41. Fencers X & Y beat the blades at the same time. X makes lunge, Y makes thrust. Both fencers hit valid.

t.7 The offensive actions are the attack, the riposte and the counterriposte. — The attack is the initial offensive action made by extending the arm and continuously threatening the opponent‘s target, preceding the launching of the lunge or flèche (cf. t.56ss, t.75ss). [emphasis added] An argument could be made that Y anticipates the lunge, but I think that’s still attempting to establish point in line (too late).

42. X makes attack, Y makes counter attack. X’s attack arrives as he’s falling and Y’s counter attack arrives.

43. Fencer X makes an attack that is short. With no pause, X immediately continues and arrives valid, while simultaneously Fencer Y counterattacks. Both actions land valid.

Interpret as “Attack from X—No! Attack from Y— Arrives. Remise out of time. Instructor wants the flip-flop of right of way; IMHO “counterattack” is not a correct expression of the idea.

44. Fencer X makes an attack against Fencer Y’s point in line. At the final moment of X’s attack, Y advances. Both fencers hit.

45. Fencer Y makes a direct attack with advance-lunge against Fencer X’s point in line. Expecting the beat, X makes two disengages. Both fencers hit.

was an attempt to beat. Consequently, the point was no longer in line

46. A male fencer may wear a rigid chest protector:

47. A male fencer appears at the beginning of the first round pool without an under-arm protector, but wearing a rigid chest protector.